Hip-Hop 4 Life
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hip-Hop 4 Life

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

Question about driving.

Go down 
+2
Justin Linker
E. Taylor
6 posters
AuthorMessage
E. Taylor
What's NXET?
What's NXET?
E. Taylor

Question about driving. Empty
PostSubject: Question about driving.   Question about driving. Icon_minitimeFri 02 Jul 2010, 10:25 am

I've never tried to learn how to drive a standard transmission. This morning, i got a job offer for a delivery route. I've been doing this type of work for 3 years but the trucks have been automatic. This new job has trucks that are standard. My question is if I find somebody willing to teach me, is this something I can learn well enough by Tuesday to start the job?
Back to top Go down

PostSubject: Re: Question about driving.   Question about driving. Icon_minitimeFri 02 Jul 2010, 10:41 am

If you put in the time this weekend you should get it down. If driving is your thing, you should get the feel for it soon, you would just have learn tonight or tomorrow and put in some serious hours this weekend and monday practicing.

Also, what kind of truck is it? If it is a regular truck it will be easier, if we are talking something larger with a different transmission then it could be tricky. I've heard 18 wheelers have up to 15 gears? or something crazy.

But the key would be practice practice practice. You don't want to be the one to stall at the stop light or while trying to go from stop to go and you don't want to pick up your new route and sound like you're going to fry the tranmission as you leave the yard.
Back to top Go down
E. Taylor
What's NXET?
What's NXET?
E. Taylor

PostSubject: Re: Question about driving.   Question about driving. Icon_minitimeFri 02 Jul 2010, 12:36 pm

It's a 15 foot box truck so it shouldn't be that bad. The driving part doesnt' concern me. It's the stopping and starting that has me worried.
Back to top Go down