Hip-Hop 4 Life
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Hip-Hop 4 Life

HomeLatest imagesRegisterLog in

M-Beat - Knowledge

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Funk Seoul Brother
Osama Bin Diesel
Funk Seoul Brother

M-Beat - Knowledge  Empty
PostSubject: M-Beat - Knowledge    M-Beat - Knowledge  Icon_minitimeMon 20 Dec 2010, 4:44 pm

Now let me start off by saying that I am relatively new to the DnB (drum & bass) scene and am still trying to understand the nuances between each of the different offshoots. I've always been quite fond of the genre as a whole but nobody I know listens to it so I had to discover it on my own one could say.

For a comprehensive analysis of the different genre's of electronic music please visit this site. Its very informative and interactive.
http://techno.org/electronic-music-guide/

Moving on, this album is really the first DnB/Ragga Jungle album I've ever heard and I really enjoyed it. The artist M-Beat is so obscure that not even wikipedia has anything about him other than his biggest contribution to the genre which is this song. You might recognize is from Ali-G In Da House.

Incredible Featuring General Levy

When the genre ragga jungle/jungle is brought up that song along with Original Nuttah are the first that come to mind. These songs capture the movement of the junglist massive (not so sure I used that term correctly but w/e).

Shy FX & UK Apachi

Anyways this album sits at about 4.75 stars for me and I really think the beatmakers on the forum should give it a listen. The breaks and samples used in this genre are at times reminiscent of hiphop (albeit very repetitive). The first 5 songs on this album are perhaps the best 5 consecutive songs I've ever heard an album start off with.

Have a listen for yourself

The first song is the song Incredible that I listed above...

Sweet Love featuring Nazlyn (Everyone should recognize this one to some extent)